This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

Premio Flaiano


Premio Flaiano


XXXII International Ennio Flaiano Prizes for literature, theater, cinema and television

For the 4th year, Flaiano Prizes Italian Studies in the field of literature will be awarded in 2005 by the Associazione Culturale Ennio Flaiano, as a part of the XXXII International Flaiano Literature Award in collaboration with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The Prize has generated many international conferences, such as La cultura italiana nel mondo (Italian Culture Abroad, 2001), Il cinema italiano nel mondo (Italian Cinema Abroad, 2002) and Il teatro italiano nel mondo (Italian Cinema Abroad, 2003).

Flaiano Prize for Italian Studies

An international jury will award €5,000 to one or more authors selected amongst Italian scholars from Europe, America or Asia.
The publications to be submitted for consideration will be indicated by the Directors of the Italian Cultural Institutes.
The Directors may propose only one work, published in 2005 in the country where their Institute is located, by sending three copies no later than March 31, 2006 to the Premio Flaiano offices, along with a letter of presentation by email ( or fax (+39-085-4517909). The Jury may also consider other publications submitted by its constituents.


The Jury, chaired by Jacqueline Risset, includes Italian and foreign experts. It meets in Rome in the offices of the Directorate General for the Promotion of Cultural Affairs of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to announce the winners for the Narrative and Italian Studies sections.

Presentation of Awards

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the Teatro Monumentale "Gabriele d’Annunzio" in Pescara on Sunday, July 9, 2006.

Winners of the last edition

The winners of the past edition, awarded on Saturday, July 9, 2005, were: 

  • Federica Brunori Deigan (Washington) for Alessandro Manzoni's The Count of Carmagnola and Adelchis
  • Gérard Marino (Parigi) for Iacopo Sannazaro, Arcadie
  • Rita Marnoto (Lisbona) for Caminhos da Italianística em Portugal

Official Flaiano Prize website